Home » Thoughts » Turning off the phone

Turning off the phone

In today’s society we’re expected to be always accessible. If someone call or text you you’re expected to answer, preferably immediately.

A couple of weeks ago I shut off my phone during the weekend, I felt free when not having it there constantly calling for me to look at it. During that time I got more messages than I normally get in a week and I missed important things such as a friend who’d gotten hospitalised.

When I shut off my phone I felt free, but when I turned it on again it felt like I was lost, because I had no clue about what had happened in the world. That made me realise how much we depend on our phones, computers and other technical equipment.

Leave a Reply

